Summer Adventure

I remember as a child my godmother would take my sister and I on trips each summer. We traveled with her to all different states. Most of the time we drove but once in awhile we would fly. I remember one trip so clearly, we drove to Washington DC to visit with my godfather and then made several stops one of those included Rehoboth Beach Delaware. Walking along the board walk, breathing in the ocean air, playing beach volleyball and seeing the bright neon lights at the different shops along the board walk is so clear in my memory. We visited history museums, the white house, the Holocaust museum, I really could go on and on but the point is that at 36 years old I can still remember, clear as day the summers I spent with my godmother. I learned so much on those trips, at the time I don’t think I realized I was learning, I just thought I was having fun. Looking back I realize how blessed I was to see all of these places and how much all of those moments have stuck with me.

I had hoped to provide similar experiences for my kiddos. We have been blessed with many camping trips and lots of trips to the farm. My kiddos love the outdoors, everything from fishing, four wheeling, float trips, and all the farm animals of course. My son has a great eye for spotting museums as we are driving, he loves learning about history, because of his great eye we have also learned a lot about different areas all around our state.

This summer we were blessed with an amazing gift. The kids had not seen the ocean or flew on a plane yet and this summer we were blessed with the opportunity to fly to Florida and spend the summer! Words can not express how grateful I am for this opportunity. Watching my children experience flying on a airplane, and stepping in the ocean for the very first time are two of the things that they have dreamed of and they have been able to do. This summer has been making memories that I know they will look back on and remember forever.

This adventure fell so perfectly in to place, my nephew came home for the summer from college and was able to house and dog sit, and everything else to allow for this trip to happen fell into place too. I was a nervous wreck because anyone that knows me, knows I don’t like to go to far from home and for sure not on my own but this new beginning is about starting fresh and why not start big with big adventures. 🙂

More on our big adventure coming soon……………………………………      🙂

Florida

Leave a Reply

